Week 5: What is Real? That’s For You To Decide

“how do we know what is real?”

It’s a question I can’t answer, you most probably can’t answer, which most academics can’t even answer, so why ask it?

Isn’t it absolutely vital for us to determine what we believe is real? I mean surely we can’t live our lives without considering the very questions that daily living, in all its various forms and outcomes, proposes? Okay! I’m done with posing the questions. However, while I’m not able to explain what is definitely real, I can tell you why it is important we have a go at answering the unanswerable question.

Real is what you perceive to be important to both YOU and OTHERS around you, it may be based on events that intertwine your/their lives or it may be events that have some impact on you both; whether it be hearing you aunty died in a car accident on the news or that your insurance company has gone bankrupt and you are no longer insured.

To some real or reality consists of the future possibilities and potential of the human race regarding our own human ability or technological advances like those that are alluded to in the videos made by about drones and Quadcopters(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvRTALJp8DM&feature=player_embedded).

Yet something is amiss. Is it necessary to define and determine what is real? What is the point? Let us take the example of the brain-game[1] where the more relaxed the participant is the further the ball travels down the field toward the other person’s “endzone”; whereby the less stressed wins. How REAListic is that? When I’m playing in SuperBowl LIII online against some dweeb in north Carolina, who is level 20 and me at just 7, an its 4th quarter with 1:17 on the clock, I’m down by 4 points and need a touchdown. I’m going to be stressed to the point of swearing and I still may win. Further, when I’m sniping out Al-Bashir’s private guard, in Battlefield 3, while being shot at by counter-snipers and I’m playing on Legendary mode with auto-aim off; I’m going to be stressed because that is a real reaction, based on the reality of the situation I’m in and the outcome I wish to occur.

Therefore, this leads me to the conclusion that maybe its great to not know the real in our lives, have a little faith in our own beliefs of what is real which might be religion or that aliens live among us, whatever it may be just as long as we are conscious of what is important to us as individuals. Having out lives mapped out around us, like what is shown in the Augmented City 3D video, is certainly something I don’t want because forgetting things and engaging with media or technology when I choose to is real. As then I become responsible or conscious for the decisions I make, sure you can contest this view, but at the end of the day you can’t control what I believe; is real because real is what we all individually believe to be true.


[1] Hansson, A & Gimpel L. Brainball, Brainball: Winning by Relaxing, Smart Studio (Interactive Institute), Last Updated: 2003, Last Visited: 25/03/2012, URL: < http://smart.tii.se/smart/projects/brainball/index_en.html >

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

